Walk Your Own Ways

It is easier to write when you speak your own words. When your behaviour reflects your innate emotion, you feel at ease. And when you drop the act and just be yourself, only then will work melt into play and progress.

Sam Smith said it best when he accepted his 4th Grammy at the 2015 Grammy Awards, saying “I just want to say that before I made this record, I was doing everything to try to get my music heard. I tried to lose weight and I was making awful music. It was only until I started to be myself that the music flowed and the people started to listen.”

This is the kind of encouragement and positive reinforcement that we need. Daily.

Easier said than done. Kudos to those already in their own skin and feeling comfortable. Not being persuaded to change or influenced by other people or situations.

Do what feels right for you, not what others tell you to do. Think your own thoughts. Feel your own feelings. Walk your own ways.

Be yourself.

Leave a Reply

